

## NEW ESF EXECUTIVE COUNCIL WAS ELECTED Gabriel Waage elected President

February 4, 2017

The General election to the European Softball Federation (ESF) Executive Council took place on February 4th, at the ESF Congress in Belgrade, Serbia.

Gabriel Waage was elected the ESF president by acclamation.

**Gabriel Waage** (CZE) has been involved with the ESF since 2004 and spent the last four years as the 1st Vice President.

Waage stated that his focus will be on marketing and promoting softball as a sport. "I want the ESF to become a strong brand, that everybody wants to be a part of," said Waage.

Waage succeeds outgoing President, Andre van Overbeek (NED) who has completed his maximum two terms (8 years) at the helm of European softball.



Elections were also held for the positions of Secretary General, Treasurer and six Vice Presidents.

**Ami Baran** (ISR) was re-elected as the Secretary General, and **Eddy van Straelen** (BEL) reconfirmed as Treasurer.

The six remaining Executive Council members are:

Youri Alkalay (BUL) - re-elected, elected 1st Vice President

Petra Arends (NED)

John Austin (IRE) - re-elected

Daniela Castellani (ITA)

Mette Nissen-Jakobsen (DEN) - re-elected

Kristian Pälviä (SWE)

More details available here.



From the left: Eddy van Straelen (treasurer), Kristian Pälviä (VP), Mette Nissen-Jakobsen (VP), Youri Alkalay (1st VP), Daniela Castellani (VP), Gabriel Waage (President), Petra Arends (VP), John Austin (VP), Ami Baran (Secretary General)

Copyright © 2017, European Softball Federation, All rights reserved.



Website: <a href="mailto:www.europeansoftball.org">www.europeansoftball.org</a>
Communications Director: <a href="mailto:hnovotna@europeansoftball.org">hnovotna@europeansoftball.org</a>